Completed Projects

Me-made May 2017: Mid-month roundup

Hi everyone, halfway there!  How is Me-made may going for you?  I must admit it has gone smoother than I actually expected given this is my first time participating.

My biggest oops was that I forgot to exclude outer wear in my pledge.  Despite the fact that I’ve done some serious procrastination on this wardrobe gap it somehow managed to slip my mind when making my goals.  Thankfully there has been no massive storms so cardigans have worked…knocks on fake wood desk…

Onward to the photos:

Day 1

May1aMay1b

Worn

Observed

  • Thank goodness for this cozy sweater knit cardi making up for my lack of a jacket.   I love everything about it…make more dark/neutral Blackwood cardigans in cozy sweater knits or french terry.  Also, make a jacket! Seriously.

Day 2

May2aMay2b

Worn

Observed

  • Wish I had more black/grey/navy cardigans.  These are the colors I gravitate to for cardigans so I find myself still reaching for RTW.

Day 3

May3aMay3b

Worn

Observed

  • I had never worn these pants, having decided when I first finished them that I didn’t like how they fit (I got a bit too aggressive on taking in the waist and then regretted it). After wearing these for the day I discovered they were better than I thought after they relaxed a bit with wear. Not perfect but wearable and they look cute cuffed!

Day 4

May4aMay4b

Worn

Observed

  • I like the skirt and got lots of compliments but was so ready to be in pants by the end of the work day.  Also missed having pockets…what to do with hands when I don’t have pockets is a mystery.   Pocket cardigan needed for pairing with this skirt.

Day 5

May5aMay5b

Worn

Observed

  • This silk is my favorite fabric ever, so soft. Need to tweek the armscye/FBA next time I attempt this pattern in sleeveless though. The gaping annoys me but I love the fabric so this gets worn pretty often despite the imperfect fit.

Day 6

May6aMay6b

Worn

Observed

  • Make more tanktops!  Love the fit of this one after I shortened above the bust.  So much better than all the RTW tanks I’m still using.

Day 7

May7aMay7b

Worn

Observed

  • I put these pants on right after work almost every day (even when it’s not #mmmay) so I could use another pair.

Day 8

May8bMay8c

Worn

Observed

  • I like these but this denim is not great quality so they bag out.  Absolutely missing my RTW straight leg blue jeans that I was still wearing all the time.

Day 9

May9aMay9b

Worn

Observed

  • Most comfortable work pants and I get compliments every time I wear these.

Day 10

May10aMay10b

Worn

Observed

  • A favorite outfit.  These get worn together all the time. I should investigate what else I can pair this top with to switch it up.

Day 11

May11aMay11b

Worn

Observed

  • Comfy and casual.  I feel this top would pair with many items but the fabric is a bit see-through and that makes me disinclined to wear it.

Day 12

May12aMay12b

Worn

Observed

  • I like these but this denim is not great quality so they bag out. Absolutely missing my RTW straight leg blue jeans that I was still wearing all the time.

Day 13

May7aMay15a

Worn

  • Greenwood Tank (Straight Stitch Designs) in Purple Mystery Jersey (Fabricland)  *unblogged*
  • Hudson Pant (True Bias) in Modal/Cotton French Terry (LA Finch Fabrics)  *unblogged*
  • 7371 (McCalls) in Cotton Flannel (Fabricland)  *unblogged*

Observed

  • What can’t be seen in the pic is that the PJ pants are not even hemmed.  They were short and in the process of deciding if I should add a cuff or just do crop length…..been contemplating this for 2 yrs as I continue to wear them. lmao.  This was a day of feeling moderately hung over and quickly devolved into a PJ day.  I definitely need more lounge wear for at home.

Day 14

May14aMay14b

Worn

Observed

  • Comfy attire for cooking a Mother’s Day feast.  I need more shorts in this style.  These would be worn way more often if the fit was better,  lowering the rise and a full seat adjustment.

Day 15

May15aMay15b

Worn

 

Observed

  • The un-hemmed PJs strike again.  Maybe I should have added to my May goal to hem all the UFOs lurking in my house!

Day 16

May16aMay16b

Worn

Observed

  • Yeah, I absolutely need more dark colour Blackwood Cardigans.  These pictures don’t even show all the times I’ve worn it in the last 2 weeks.  Also, I was really missing black pants so I dug this black pair of Chitown Chinos out of the UFO pile and finished them on the weekend.  I had tried to make adjustments to them but just ended up making things worse.  It took this Me-made May challenge for me to tackle them again.

 

So far what I’m missing most is leggings, tunic length tops, knit shorts, sports/soft bras and my straight leg blue jeans.  If you are participating in Me-made May what are you missing most?

4 thoughts on “Me-made May 2017: Mid-month roundup

  1. Wow so impressed and so many great and comfortable choices there. Now I want to make a rumi tank especially and some Hudson pants and a plantain tee and a bailen top and some rayon pants and… and… and…

    You’ve made so many pairs of pants/trousers which is something I need to do more as it’s definitely a gap in my wardrobe. May I ask, what is your favourite pants pattern?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Fiona! I adore the Rumi, Hudsons and Plantain too and think I need a couple more of each. So many things on the sewing list…

      I have been on a pants mission lately since all my RTW are becoming quite worn out and I’m trying to avoid purchasing RTW. Gosh, picking a favourite is hard, I like each in different scenarios 🤔. Hudsons are my fave for comfy lounging at home. For work appropriate, I love both my Tierras woven joggers and the black Chi Town Chinos that I just finished. The Chinos may be sneaking into the lead because they pair with more of my tops (due to both the style and black colour I used). Gingers are my favourite jeans pattern so far because I lean towards classic basics. I was highly impressed with the Jamie Jeans pattern but I need to try it in better quality denim before I can truly compare with my Gingers.

      Haha, a very rambling answer to end up saying I love all my pants! 😂

      Like

Leave a Reply

