Completed Projects · Lingerie · Pattern Review

A makeBra and 4 Watson Briefs

Despite the fact that I hadn’t planned to make another bra in March, here it is!

I happened upon a new lingerie pattern maker at the end of February.  It was this pic on Pinterest that led me to  Make Bra, a Finnish company which has lingerie supplies, courses and several patterns for foam cup bras. There is even one with foam cups and no underwires!

I really liked the shape and different look of their patterns so I ordered the DL01 I had seen pinned.  The patterns are available in single sizes for a great price but I was somewhat uncertain of my European size so I choose the multi-size option which gave me a cup size above and below my chosen 80C.

I used a stretchy jersey knit print to cover my foam cups since any material is acceptable for covering foam cups.  I underlined the bridge with sheer cup lining and the band with powernet since my jersey fabric would not provide enough support.  Everything was stitched on my sewing machine using my walking foot to stop the jersey from getting wavey and misshapen.

The only difficulty  I ran into was was attaching the fold over elastic around the edges.  I had ordered 3/8″ fold over in pale pink on Etsy but when it came there was no fold down the middle and it was 3/8″ total width rather than after folded.  Needless to say, it was tricky to attach.  I stuck with it since I didn’t have another FOE in a color and size that would work.

The instructions that came with the pattern itself were very limited but I was fine with that, since I’m familiar with the basic construction process now.  The pattern does reference online instructions for a foam cup bra with more details of construction and pictures of steps so a confident beginner should be fine.  One difference in their steps from other patterns I’ve used was to leave  excess fabric in the band back then trim once the bra is assembled and you can test fit.  This is a great idea to prevent ending up with a band that is too tight

I am very happy with the end result and fit of the 80C.  The cups are nicely rounded and give good support and coverage  while still looking pretty.  The curved shape of the cups at the neckline is fantastic.  The foam goes up the strap section as well, making them nicely padded.  I’ll get lots of wear out of this bra (twice already this week) since its comfortable, pretty and with a cup shape I love. There’ll be more of these in the future – a racerback version would be really nice with this pattern.

Pink Circles makeBra DL01 – Garment Cost $21.25 CAD(costs include taxes, shipping, exchange & duties)
  • 1/2″ Band elastic $1.40 – Bra-Makers Supply
  • 1/2″ Strap Elastic $0.83 – Fabricland
  • 3/8″ FO elastic $1.80 – Azenith Collection on Etsy
  • Hook & Eye closure $1.20 – Sew Sassy Fabrics
  • Channeling- $1.46 – Sew Sassy Fabrics
  • Strap sliders/rings $1.70 – Sew Sassy Fabrics
  • Underwires $1.05 – Fabricland
  • Powernet $2.15 – Sew Sassy Fabrics
  • Jersey knit fabric $1.15 – Fabricland
  • Misty fuse $1.50 – Bra-Makers Supply
  • Sheer cup lining $1.50 – Bra-Makers Supply
  • Pre-finished foam $5.00 – Bra-Makers Supply
  • Thread approx $0.50

*** Prices for Sew Sassy items are from a order I made in 2014, when CAD to USD exchange was much better than current rates.

Pattern cost $18.88 CAD
Next time
  • Try modifying to have a racerback

Now, onwards to the Watson Bikini Breifs.  Part of my March goal was 4 pairs of briefs to match my new bras.  I hadn’t yet tried the Watson bikini pattern which came with the soft bra pattern I used for my very first handmade bra.  I traced it out and used it for 3 of the 4 pairs I made this month.


Wow!  These briefs fit perfectly and I wouldn’t change a thing.  The only thing I did differently from the printed instructions was to enclose both the front and back seams for the crotch section using the technique shown in the Watson sew-along.  This will definitely be my go to pattern for bikini briefs from now on!


To match my new MakeBra DL01, I made a pale pink Watson Bikini and a self drafted piece out of the matching fabric (there wasn’t enough fabric remaining for a bikini).


To match the Shelley Bra I made back in February, 2 more Watson Bikinis.  One with pretty little lace panels from leftover scraps and the other just in plain black jersey.

Pink circles self drafted – Garment Cost $2.22 CAD(costs include taxes, shipping, exchange & duties)
  • 3/8″ FO elastic $1.80 – Azenith Collection on Etsy
  • Jersey knit fabric $0.42 – Fabricland
Pale pink Watson Bikini – Garment Cost $1.00 CAD(costs include taxes, shipping, exchange & duties)
Black/red lace Watson Bikini – Garment Cost $2.83 CAD(costs include taxes, shipping, exchange & duties)
  • 3/8″ band elastic $1.33 – Flora’s Garden (Kim Thayer) on Etsy
  • Jersey knit fabric $1.50 – Fabricland
Black Watson Bikini – Garment Cost $3.34 CAD(costs include taxes, shipping, exchange & duties)
  • 3/8″ band elastic $.66 – Flora’s Garden (Kim Thayer) on Etsy
  • Jersey knit fabric $1.50 – Fabricland
  • 3/8″ FO elastic $1.18 – Fabricland
Watson Pattern cost $20.22 CAD (PDF version including bra and bikini) used once previously
Next time
  • no changes its already perfect!

 

4 thoughts on “A makeBra and 4 Watson Briefs

Comments are closed.