Completed Projects · Pattern Review · Tops/Tunics

Datura Blouse in silk/cotton blend

I’m finding I’m lacking in sleeveless tops that can be worn with a cardigan at this time of year. So when I got my Deer & Doe pattern order from France the Datura pattern moved right up to the top of the queue, between Christmas gifts.

image

The pattern was a bit on the expensive side after shipping and exchange but this indie designer has such pretty patterns and one was even named after me so how could I resist.

The patten fits me perfectly with no adjustments! So nice to get a pattern without gigantic gaping at the back and so much ease that I feel like I’m wearing a tent if I make the recommended size. I found the instructions a bit brief but I didn’t have any problems. Plus I realized, after the fact, that the pattern was rated as “advanced” level so they likely expect experienced sewers to have previously used the techniques involved.

Check out the cute button back feature too!

End result, I love this pattern, it’s going into the TNT list and I’ll be using it again especially since it has a collar variation.

Total cost $14.91
  • Purple silk/cotton blend $13.00 – Fabricland
  • Cute buttons $0.40
  • Thread $1.51
Pattern cost $17.25 CAD (including shipping costs)
Next time
  • Try Peter Pan collar variation
