Completed Projects · Pattern Review · Tops/Tunics

The Sorbetto tank top

For project #2 I choose something much easier. Backwards as normal, I don’t do the easy pattern fist!

I just discovered there are many Indie pattern designers one can access now! How exciting is that?  Many of the patterns from the “big pattern companies”  don’t have the level or type of detailing I’m looking for.  I want something that looks as good as Ready to Wear but is better quality because I made it.

So, of course, I must immediately try one of these intriguing Indie patterns – with fun names like Sorbetto! This one was free to download here.  I was very impressed that they provided a freebie so I could “try before I buy”.

image

I am very happy with how this turned out! The directions were clear and everything fit together nicely.  The only thing I will do differently next time (yup, I’ll be making this one again) is make the darts slightly shorter and a bit of a full bust adjustment.

image

 

image

I had never made my own bias tape before but wanted the facing to match.  I tried out this little “bias tape maker” gadget.  Neat eh?

This handy tutorial on the  Colette patterns site about how to make bias tape helped out. With a gadget, some spray starch and the tutorial it was very easy.

Verdict – pretty sure I’ll be purchasing more patterns from Colette…perhaps some knickers?

Total cost $9.55
  • Yellow rayon  $8.70
  • Buttons $0.85
Next time
  • Shorten darts
  • Bit of a FBA
  • Try contrast facing
